The Board formally makes decisions based on the recommendations of the steering groups. The Board is made up of the chairs and vice-chairs of the three steering groups and meets ten times per year. The Board is chaired by VSNU President Pieter Duisenberg and supported by Board Secretary Remco Smulders.